Why So Angry – Part II, The Prequel

I have been angry all of my life.  This probably stems from being a second, then a middle child and feeling less important than everyone else in the house.  Now, this was completely my own fault (even as a little kid), but I think something stuck.  I don’t know if it was lack of hugs, or needing to be accepted, or whatever.  I just know that my first instinct when something bothers me is to put up my guard and go on the defense, or offense for that matter.  Now, when I say angry, I do not mean I walk around all day with a scowl on and just holler at everyone I see.  For the most part, I am a very happy person with the best friends and family I could ever hope for.  My friends do not see me as an angry person.  My friends, however, know that I can certainly take up residence on a soap box periodically.

My wife has told me that I am very unlike most men, in that I am very self-aware, and I am very good at taking responsibility for my actions and putting the needs of the many ahead of the needs of the few.  She thinks that it is even more unusual that I do it without considering it a burden or a nuisance.  Unfortunately, I have an unreasonable expectation that most should be the same way.  I wish so badly that citizens and residents of the United States, would have the same feelings I have towards making things better for our country.  I mean, I know that blogging about the things that bother me won’t change anything, but I guess it is an outlet for me to get it off of my chest.  I wish, and wish, and wish until I get angry each time I see an example of people simply not caring at all.  It just seems sad to me that most of the country cares more about whether or not their football team does well than they care about whether or not our interests are being advocated in congress, the senate and the white house.

Truth be told, I’m not an angry person.  I am, however, quite cynical and over-dramatic.  I care about the well-being of everyone who is proud to be an American, for the right reasons.  I care for those who take the time to at least know what is going on, and have an educated opinion on what we can do to fix the problems.  I would love to find these people and form a think tank (preferably one with financial backing).  People who want to fix the problems.  For those who are just here, doing nothing to better themselves, their families, and the state of things in their own homeland, I can’t waste my time caring about you or your opinion.

Leave a Reply

